Illustrated Journal #31

The Old Guitarist.jpg

The Old Guitarist by Pablo Picasso (1903-04)

I was not interested in Picasso until I did a paper on him for my art history class. I looked into his work and found some interesting paintings done by him. This one is my favorite. I like it so much that I chose to do it for my skeleton project.

This is an oil painting that only uses two colors. Blue is the most present one. In western cultures, this color is associated with being down and feeling sad. This poor unfortunate soul is painted feeling down on his luck. One thing I really like is the form of the figure. Different value shifts make it make it dynamic instead of just something flat. For example, on the legs shadows in different values are scattered about. They range from light to dark.

This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

